February 1942
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Day February 28, 1942

February 28, 1942 — Saturday

Arrived Bais Sugar Central at 2:15 a.m. We found that the big house of the manager was being occupied by various families and the poor people had to get up at that hour to pack their things and move out so that we could occupy the house. I felt very much ashamed and I tried my best to apologize. It broke my heart to see a little girl 6 years old get up from her bed and start collecting all her dolls and toys. Mass was said at that time, and then we went to bed. I awoke at 9 a.m. Attended to some work and visited the Central. Went to Dumaguete in afternoon. Saw Tapale.

February 28, 1942

Rumors (are) that more NARIC employees will be taken to Fort Santiago. Most of my men are demoralized. The efficiency of the service is impaired. Nervous tension in the office prevails.

Unson has not yet been released. Charges against him have not been specified. He was just arrested and detained. Nobody knows how long he will be imprisoned. Who will be next?

Heard a heart-lifting broadcast over the Voice of Freedom: “Be of good cheer. Sleep tight through the night of defeat. Gather strength for the morning and we’ll be there sooner than you think.”

Now we grope through the night. For how long, only the Lord knows. We must carry on. Somewhere ahead is the morning.

How many of us will live to see it?

February 28, 1942

Bataan, HQ, MIS

Non-stop bombing. Spent day going in and out of dug-out. If they bomb some more, I will not go to dug-out anymore.

Hungry. A handful of lugao is not enough. We are fed like chickens and we live like rats –underground.

Quarreled with Fred over the use of my towel. Silly thing. Guess we are all somewhat nervous. Nerves all on edge.

Mass will be said in our CP tomorrow morning. It’s about time. What we can’t get with guns, we might have through prayers. I will pray for cheese.

Intense fighting in eastern front. Jap thrusts in Capinpin’s sector stopped.

Checked up instructions to operations going to Nueva Ecija and Lingayen.

Bawled out by General. He claims I didn’t keep all his papers in order. “What kind of an aide are you?” he asked.

Wrote him letter of resignation. Asked for assignment to front. Fred tried to stop me. So did Leonie. They are good friends. I don’t give a damn what the general does about my resignation. He makes me sick.

Finished the rest of brandy with Fred and Leonie. Fred started talking of old days with coeds in U.P. He revealed a lot of ‘green’ incidents in U.P. campus. Nothing like co-education. Leonie started singing “We are in the Army Now.” Drinking orgy stopped by arrival of some civilians for questioning, heck.

I’ve finished questioning the fellow given to me. Leonie is still in the dug-out questioning the old man who was wearing a red shirt. He is typing with a candle on one hand. Wottalife!

(later)

Henceforth, supper will be called the “salmon-hour”, according to Lt. Tatco, mess officer. To hell with Salmon!